General news, concert announcements, etc. Mailing list here.

Something Like A Storm - Available Oct 20


We are please to announce that Matthew's new record, Something Like A Storm will be available Oct 20, 2017. Fans who preorder the album on iTunes or in Matthew’s official store will receive an instant download of “Bad Guys Win,” “Days Come Down” and the single “Decades.”  For the full track list, please see below. 

 “The theme of the album is one foreboding, of the gathering of socially divisive storm clouds, from the perspective of the personal to wider frames of inclusion,” Matthew says of Something Like a Storm.  “The title comes from a demo originally recorded years ago. Given that it was roughly 20 minutes in length, and comprised of movements, I'd only written the first five lines of lyrics which are now the first lines on the album. Musically, the song on the album doesn't include anything from the original demo.”

Matthew has released a number of videos in the recent weeks, including one of the first live performances of his single “Decades,” taped at the Danforth Music Hall on his recent Beautiful Midnight Revisited tour. Those in attendance on this tour were treated to a sneak peek of both “Decades” and “Bad Guys Win.”  Fans can click here to watch the video. Watch the official "Decades" video, featuring Maxwell Jenkins here. Matthew also participated in the Warner Music Canada 5Q4 series, in which he speaks about the process of recording “Decades;” part one can be seen here. 

Keep checking back for more announcements. 

Pre-Order the LP and CD here. 

Something Like a Storm

Track list:
1.    Bad Guys Win                                
2.    Decades                                
3.    Men At The Door                            
4.    There The First Time                        
5.    Days Come Down                            
6.    Something Like A Storm                        
7.    She’s Got You Where She Wants You            
8.    This Is Night                                
9.    Bullets In A Briefcase        

~Team MG